ExerSkies

26 Feb

I went swimming, for the first time in more years than I want to think about, yesterday. I’m actually really glad that I went, and I don’t know why I spent so much worrying about it! I’m going to go again next week, maybe on Sunday or Monday. I was lucky when I went, as the pool was really quiet- half of it was given over to some kind of club, and there were only five or so people in the part that I was in. Unfortunately, I managed to forget my new, overpriced and cheaply made, goggles, so I couldn’t see much, and swam with my head above the water for half of the time.

I had feared that in the years that I haven’t swum (beyond splashing around in a pool on holiday) I would have forgotten how to! The old wives’ tale is true, I guess- it’s one of the things you don’t forget. It took me a while to get used to breathing while in the pool though, and I swear I have never ingested so much water! The pool is smaller than the one at Hornchurch Sports Centre where I used to swim, but it’s much nicer. I think a lot of that must be because it’s newer and not really for general public use. I’m going to try to keep up going swimming as it will be good for me! I did fourteen lengths, which isn’t bad for a first time. I’m aiming for twenty next time, then increasing them gradually. I had to measure in lengths, rather than time as I couldn’t even see where the clock was, let alone what time it showed!

After swimming, I went to the Animal Welfare and Vegetarian Society meeting and elections, of which I am not Vice President/ Secretary, which is quite exciting! We then went out for delicious noodles from the Coventry Noodle Bar. Probably tomorrow I’m going to write a blog about all the food I have eaten with them, but it will have to wait, as I have a 10am lecture tomorrow, and it is now 02:15. >_>

Leave a Reply

